Facebook Envy

Today on Facebook a friend’s status update shouted to the world that she was now engaged, another friend shared the “joyous arrival” of her “happy and perfect bundle of love”, and a third friend updated her profile picture with pictures of her new amazing place. I know Facebook is just a snapshot / it only shows a tiny part of life / we all update it with the interesting things /blah blah blah. But I’ve had a draining weekend back at my parent’s house and I’m now trying to kill the growing envy that the rest of the world is progressing and having some kind of life whilst I just lie in bed, watching tv, surfing the net and eating sweets. It is a sad night.

20121028-234135.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ShoegazeAndCats
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 23:54:26

    Hey, I’m envious of you! I haven’t left the apartment all weekend because I have papers to write….but what’s really sad is that I’ve barely accomplished anything at all. Right now I envy anyone who’s had a carefree weekend without a thing to do.

    Reply

  2. cotswoldsgirl
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 18:57:09

    I do also know that my married child-encumbered friends would (sometimes) almost kill to swap screaming children at 5am, dirty nappies, vomit and sleep-deprivation for my sauntering out of bed at 10am, washing my hair (free of vomit), and pottering to the shops to buy anything except wet wipes and Pampers. Then having a takeaway and a cold glass of Chablis, and exactly what I want to watch on Sky. And the freedom to just go for a walk, or book riding lessons, or do whatever I want whenever I damn well please. But yeah I’d like a boyfriend to do whatever I like with too!

    Reply

    • B Girl
      Oct 31, 2012 @ 13:27:26

      I’m blaming Facebook and the status updates. Must remember not to check FB updates after a long pissy day. And must remember it’s never as glowy as it all sounds – my engaged friend has been with her boyfriend for 19 years before they’ve reached this point, my friend with the baby is tired beyond belief and the one with the house….Ok nothing un-glowy there – her place is beautiful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

